We Pause To Give Thanks

20 Nov

It is production week at the Commonweal with Opening Night of A Christmas Carol set for Friday. Ahead of that, as it is also Thanksgiving week, we pause for moments of thanks. Today, we continue our tradition of sharing what we are most thankful for at this time of year.

Hal: I’m thankful for the wonderful opportunities that this life has afforded me – meeting my wonderful life partner, working with an awe-inspiring (and oft-changing) group of talented artists whom I am proud to call my friends, and the chance to not only touch the lives of thousands of people with my art but to have them comfortable enough to express how that work affects them.

Adrienne: I love Thanksgiving — it’s my favorite holiday. I always welcome the opportunity to reflect on gratitude. The 14th century philosopher Meister Eckhart said: “If the only prayer you every say is “Thank You” that will be enough.” It’s a sentiment I try to start every day with, so an entire day when the nation turns it’s attention to gratitude is a beautiful thing! 

This year I am particularly grateful for my health and the health of my friends and loved ones, especially my niece Grayson who was born 12 weeks premature on July 22. She has fought so hard for every moment of her life and as she gets stronger and stronger she proves to be such an inspiration. Never take anything for granted — every breath you take is a miracle. At 4 months and barely 6 pounds, Grayson reminds me of this every day. 

Catie Glynn: I am grateful for a lot of things but this year I am especially grateful for health care.  For several years now I have had to go without insurance due to pre-existing conditions.  But this past year I was finally able to get insurance through the new affordable health care act that President Obama and his team put in place. I can now go to Mayo and have my migraines and other chronic issues researched by some of the world’s best doctors. I am truly grateful that this insurance option will stay in place and that others may profit from it as well.  Chronic pain and medical bills can be terrifying and much of my fear has been alleviated this year. 

Katie Berger: This is the first Thanksgiving I am spending away from my family, so I can honestly say that I am extremely thankful for my Commonweal family that I have become a part of over these past 8 months.  They make me laugh so hard I cry, put up with my singing at the residence, and have all adopted my strange ways of speech (am I right, ladles?). Most importantly, they always hold me up.

Scott: I am grateful for the love and support of my family and my artistic family, who let me try new and crazy things and hold me up when I think I’m about to go over the edge!

Gary: I am thankful for my parents. I have spent a lot of time away from them this year, but we had some wonderful visits here in Lanesboro and we watched my older brother get married in September. Their love and support for me, what I do, and what I’ve become has never been more apparent or keenly felt. 

Carla: I am thankful for my family, my friends, and my Commonweal family. I am thankful to be doing what I do and the fact that I get to do what I LOVE. Then I am especially thankful for my boyfriend, Nathan, who has been so amazing. So caring and supportive and loving me for who I am. And for having a car.

Stef: This year, I am thankful for my health, my happy marriage, and working a job that I love and am passionate about: this theatre provides an environment that makes me eager and fulfilled daily; I was recently marveling at the fact that I so rarely – if ever – watch the clock when I’m at the Commonweal, and that is unlike any “job” I’ve ever had. 

David: A Preston home where Linda and I can rest, relax and entertain occasionally. A career in the theater along with a stable life, a luxury which most artists do not have. I’m doubly thankful that I get to know our audience personally as part of an extended family. A wonderful national holiday with one purpose: to pause and give thanks for all of our blessings and do it with friends and family over a delicious meal!

Megan: I know this is way materialistic – but I am thankful for my new house!  Daniel and I bought a home in Lanesboro in June and are thrilled to consider this our community for a great long while.  PLUS – This will hopefully mean that we will not be moving again for a long time.  After having made 8 different “moves” since the summer of 2009, we’re thrilled to be staying in one place!

Ana: When I look around at who surrounds me, what I have and what I’ve done, I am thankful for it all. It’s so humbling to be reminded of the love, creativity, passion, courage and strength that I find myself embraced with. It’s incredibly special. I am so thankful for these things that are always present but maybe not acknowledged like they should be.

Paul: I’m thankful for caring, supportive friends and family.

Ethan: This year, I find myself increasingly thankful for the opportunities and encouragement that are all around me:  a blossoming career after a blessed education, an active community, artistic expression, an supportive family, inspirational friends, and strong voice.

Jeremy: Early in my career as an artist, I certainly set out to make a change in how people look at themselves and their communities. I am grateful to feel, at long last, as though my art is making a difference. 

Daniel: I am thankful for powdered sugar Donettes and Golden Cupcakes.

Carolyn: I am thankful for my friends and family, kitties, Harry Potter, Kristen Bell, and Katie Berger.

Stela: I am grateful to be blessed with an amazing son, who’s joy, delight and discoveries in his young life remind me daily just how utterly amazing our world is.  His laughter and toddler antics are a neverending source of healing through joy. And I am incredibly grateful for the “village” that is helping raise him.   We are so blessed to live in a town full of inspiring and caring people! I am also grateful to our extended Commonweal family, for their support of us as artists and as parents. What an amazing dream we are living! 

—On behalf of the company as a whole, let me say that we are extremely grateful for the thousands of people who have come through the doors of the Commonweal for the past 24 years. You consistently amaze us with your support and at this time of year, we owe a debt of thanks to you. Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “We Pause To Give Thanks”

  1. igotafishon November 20, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

    And we Love You Gary. We may not say it enough, we show it, and the “show must (and will) go on. Mom & Dad. Oh, Daniel Day-Lewis also sends his love clothed in immense power.

  2. Carolee Stock November 26, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

    Dan, Are you sick? You only wanted powdered-sugar donuts when you were sick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

