The World of the Play

10 Oct
Compiled by Jeremy van Meter; video by Ana Hagedorn

The Philadelphia Story just so happens to be the production which has the longest performance run of the 2012 season. When the production closes on October 26, it will have logged 54 total (public) performances and played to an audience of hundreds. One of the most common questions we as a cast get when people find out the length of the run is how we keep it all together for that amount of time and what sustains a production through that many performances. 

Early on in my acting career I became aware of the phrase “the world of the play.” That idea is what I use when answering the question of what has sustained my personal performance within The Philadelphia Story. The particular set, lighting and costume design immerses me fully in the world of The Philadelphia Story.  It is unlike any other world in which I have lived on stage and the character that I play unlike any other that I have played in the past. The other characters in that world are fascinating to connect with and that connection deepens with each performance. I have fallen in love with the story and to share it with a new group of people each time we are allowed to do so is extremely satisfying. It is also not too difficult to share the stage with some of my greatest friends and my wife at the same time!

A few other cast members were asked the same question and they share their thoughts in the following video:

It is unbelievable that we are in the waning days of the production run and if you have yet to see The Philadelphia Story, your opportunities are passing quickly. Seven performances remain before the closing on October 26.

6 Responses to “The World of the Play”

  1. status.ixwebhosting.com May 17, 2013 at 3:15 PM #

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed
    the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally
    off topic but I had to tell someone!

  2. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information specifically the final part :
    ) I take care of such info much. I used to be seeking this particular information
    for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  3. I all the time emailed this weblog post page to
    all my friends, for the reason that if like to read it after that
    my links will too.

  4. Bryant May 22, 2013 at 6:18 AM #

    great put up, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You must continue your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  5. Eleventh hour Resort Reservations May 22, 2013 at 2:22 PM #

    Hello there, I discovered your blog by way of Google at the same time as looking for a similar matter, your web site got here
    up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just changed into alert to your weblog through Google, and located that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll
    appreciate in case you continue this in future.
    Lots of other folks will likely be benefited
    from your writing. Cheers!

  6. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to
    check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and wonderful design.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

